This week I have been reading.

Reading, reading, and more reading.

Our essay is due at the end of the week and I busy trying to understand as much as I can about how technology contributes to journalism. Amongst my reading, I came across a really interesting article titled, ‘Journalism is not dead, but Newspapers are dying.’ Something I took from it was that, Journalism will never die. It will transform, adjust and develop but never die. Newspapers are not as commonly used anymore yet this should not be mistaken for the death of journalism. With the development of technology, journalism has been forced to adapt and as a result it has become much more digitalised.

The article expanded on other aspects and it’s definitely worth the read. So here is the link for any of you keen beans!

http://www.briansolis.com/2007/03/journalism-is-not-dead-but-newspapers/

Writing this essay actually helped me with my story too. It made me realise that I could be utilizing the Internet and technology so much more. Actually not even ‘could be’, but I SHOULD be! All this reading and research into technologies contribution has showed me that, as journalists, we need to using Social Media and other sites, if we want to stay relevant and for our stories to be heard.

So until next time.

Georgie F

