The more I read about Journalism and ‘how to be a good journalistic writer’, the more overwhelmed I feel. There is an abundance of information out there and its just about sifting through and analysing whats useful and whats not.

My one downfall when it comes to writing, is my lack of sentence starters. I know it sounds like a bizarre problem to face, but I always seem to be searching for new and creative ways to introduce my next ideas, in desperate hope of not sounding repetitive.

Over the last two weeks I have consumed my every sparing moment with reading cover-to-cover of British magazine, The Week. Whenever I find a unique phrase that could be coined I scribble it down in my notebook. That way, when it comes to my next version of my Journalism story, I will hopefully have a vast array of phrases to draw from.

Between now and when our next story is due, I definitely have some work to do. I think one aspect I can definitely improve on, is the idea of the Inverted Triangle, a concept we learnt about over the last week. That structure, which creates a easy-to-read and concise story is something I need to adapt (Hannis, 2014). Its broken up into three sections:

  1. Intro – key sentence to show angle of story
  2. Bridge – Transition sentence which leads us into the rest of the article
  3. Body – provides more information with quotes and facts
(Hannis, 2014)
(Hannis, 2014)

So this weeks goal is to read. Read as much as I can about Journalistic structures and the formation of concise stories. Wish me luck!

Georgie Foot

References:

Hannis, G. (2014). Intro: a beginner’s guide to journalism in 21st-century Aotearoa/New Zealand (pp. 199-217). Wellington: New Zealand Journalists Training Organisation.

